That Ugly Thing Called Pride 

Life is a stage, we wear the mask and our audience is the world

I deceive myself pumping my pride with approval and fueling my rejection with criticism 

I’m always waiting for my next audition, knowing I can play the part but sick of living out these screenplays not knowing the true identity of the actress

Pride manipulates itself into performance, it’s not just that you want to achieve…you have to achieve

If you fail, you diminish any sense of self worth you have. 

Everyone enjoys a good review but what happens when the play ends? 

Unfortunately, pride can be our biggest area of blindness. It can be right before us and we will fail to see it or to call it pride. It is rooted in rejection and rebellion. We react to rejection with perfectionism and as we become “perfect,” we achieve the carnal goals of having things just as we want them. We begin to puff up with pride. “I want somebody to love me, so I’ll set myself a goal, achieve it and say, look at me; look what I’ve done.” We develop an exaggerated opinion of ourselves, vanity follows, with excessive pride.
Pride is one of many of fear’s offspring. The reason is that we think that if I puff up I will scare away the threat that I am faced with whether it be rejection, loss, a tarnished reputation, demotion and so on. Live in freedom knowing that perfection is not a prerequisite for God’s love. 

 I Peter 5:6-7 Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.

Author: wandererchronicles

Welcome. Just a brief snapshot of my thoughts. I hope to inspire healing through my words and experiences. Much love 💜

Leave a Reply

