Grandmother Taught Me

My grandmother taught me to be resilient 

To square my shoulders in the face of adversity 

To be a pistol, provider, partner

My grandmother taught me to dismiss pain 

So I stood continuously in a dark space, beating my heart until it was silent 

Daring it to speak a word

It was black and blue until it turned into stone and I’d rather feel it harden underneath my skin then to feel any weakness within

I transformed into her projection, a strong woman with wit to match, broken on the inside with shame attached to my soul

Words unspoken, too invested in saving face

This pain is heavy but the responsibility of being a strong black woman is heavier 

Author: wandererchronicles

Welcome. Just a brief snapshot of my thoughts. I hope to inspire healing through my words and experiences. Much love 💜

Leave a Reply

