It’s Worth It

Waiting is worth it

Especially when you find the one worth waiting for

I used to look for Prince Charming when I didn’t understand that real relationships take real work. I had some obnoxious list of wants. Rooted in vanity. This height, he needs to make this salary…pure foolishness. Now that I’m older, my priorities have definitely changed. 

I’ve learned that I need a partner, my ace. Someone who enjoys the things I enjoy: traveling, reading, volunteering, random 3am trips to 7-eleven for slurpees. I need someone who understands that life is too short to waste by not fulfilling their God given purpose. I need a best friend who is willing to lay down in the trenches when times get rough. I need a love that sees that I’m not perfect and is okay with that. 

And while I say that I need all these things, I must be willing to be all these things for my partner. If two people give their all to ensure that their partner is happy, both people win in the relationship. There is no room for lack. 

Waiting is rough…

There are times when I want to throw in the towel. Times when my standards are tested and I have to make the decision to stand firm or lower them. There are times when I wished relationships would’ve worked out. One thing I can be sure of is that I never want to regret not waiting and settling for someone who can’t reciprocate the love I give. 

So I purposefully decided to wait on these things.  It’s a reason for it all and I’ll continue to wait. It’s worth it. 

Author: wandererchronicles

Welcome. Just a brief snapshot of my thoughts. I hope to inspire healing through my words and experiences. Much love 💜

Leave a Reply

